Groups

Organize your users into groups for organizational, reporting, and partitioning purposes.

User groups help you to bring an additional level of order to your team directory. Create groups to manage, filter, and target convenient compositions of users at once.

This feature is exclusively available on the Business and Enterprise plan. Only Team Owners and Admins can create, view and edit user groups.

How to create a group

You can create a group by going to the Users page from the main navigation panel. On the Users page, you click on the Groups tab. Initially, you will have no groups created. You can start creating a group by clicking on the + User Group button on the top right.

A group should always have a name and can optionally have a description to clarify its purpose. You can not make two groups with the same name, to avoid any confusion.

Group managers

On the General tab, It’s also possible to assign admins to become Group Managers of a group. By default, All admins can update or delete a group. If you want to assign Specific admins to become Group Managers, switch the group managers setting from All to Specific, click Add managers and select the admins from the dropdown list. When you assign Specific admins to become Group Manager of a group, only these people will be able to update or delete the specific group.

Only admins with the Active status can be group managers. The Team Owner is always able to update or delete existing user groups even when he or she is not a specific group manager.

When an admin is Deactivated or Downgraded to member access, he or she is automatically removed as a group manager from all existing user groups.

Group users

On the Users tab, an overview is given of the people who are part of the group. To add people to the group, you click on the user icon next to the search field. You will now see a list of people that can be added to the group. Click on the User to directly add him or her to the group. Hit the back icon on the top left when you are done. Hit the cross icon If you wish to remove users from the group.

Users that are Deactivated are soft-deleted from the user groups. A user is only hard-deleted when the user is Deleted from the team or Removed from the user group itself.

How to update or delete a group

Existing user groups are shown on the Groups tab. By clicking on any of the Groups, you open the specific group modal where you can change the name, description, group managers, and group users. Updating an existing group works in the same way as creating a new group.

Deleting a group is done by clicking the Delete button. You will then have to confirm your decision in the modal that appears. Deleting a group is permanent; it will disappear from any used functionality.

When you make a change, you will see a Cancel and Update button appear in the bottom footer. Clicking the Cancel button will dismiss any changes you made and close the group modal. The Update button will directly apply any changes you made.

Using groups in Soon

Groups can be used for quickly adding people to Events in the People Picker, filtering Leave Requests on the Leave page, and assigning Leave Managers to a group of users on the Settings tab of the Team account page.

Adding people to events

When creating an event you can type # in the people field to quickly add the users in a group to an event. Only users who are selectable in the people picker are added. Groups without users are not shown.

Filtering leave requests

Filtering leave requests based on user groups help admins to keep track of leave requests that matter most to them. By selecting one or more groups only leave requests from users in one of the selected groups will be shown. Your filter settings are saved to your personal account upon clicking Apply.

Assigning groups to leave managers

Teams can streamline leave management by assigning managers to handle requests for specific user groups. By default, leave managers can manage leave requests for the entire team.

However, when user groups are assigned to leave managers, managers will only get notified in-app, via email and within the Soon inbox of requests of users that are in groups they manage. Also, leave managers will only be able to create leave requests for people that have been assigned to groups they manage.